Skip to main content

Five EU Member States Announce 2nd Stakeholder Consultation on Restriction for PFAS

EU Flag

Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and Denmark have issued a questionnaire as the next step for preparing a REACH Annex XV Restriction Dossier on per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) to restrict the manufacturing, use, and placement of PFAS on the EU market.  The purpose of the questionnaire is to provide an overview of the information that these five authorities have on the different uses of PFAS.  By checking this data and providing feedback, respondents can ensure that the correct information is used for the assessment and preparation of a REACH Annex XV Restriction Dossier.  The questionnaire addresses questions to the whole supply chain including industry associations, manufacturers, importers, distributors, and downstream users.  As a first step, in May 2020, the five countries issued a request for data. (See Five European Countries to Propose PFAS REACH Restriction; Request Comments for more information.)